thedwarfandthegiant


Cake pops! Me oh my
April 22, 2011, 2:20 pm
Filed under: wedding food and treats

So I’ve been seeing these adordable cake pops everywhere and love the idea of making them a departing treat or served at happy hour at our wedding.

I did a test run with an Easter theme for my co workers and lovely fiancé. They are the easiest lil’ suckers to make.

First get your supplies. You will need cake mix, eggs, oil, frosting, sticks, craft foam, melting candy, and any additional decorating tools.

Next bake your cake. Wait for your cake to cool. I’d give it at least an hour. Then crumble up the cake as fine as you can. Add one cup of frosting a bit at a time. This will make your cake feel like cookie dough. Roll out spheres and place on a baking pan. The size is bakers choice. Now put them in the fridge to harden. Other recipes suggest an hour but I left my cake balls overnight.

20110422-071939.jpg

20110422-072325.jpg

20110422-072343.jpg

Time to grab your melting chocolate. Throw several chips in a bowl and microwave them in 30 second intervals, stirring in between heating. Then dip your stick into the melting chocolate and insert into pop about half way to 3/4 of the way through. Next roll the cake ball in the melting chocolate. Stick the pops in craft foam to keep them upright. The melting candy will harden within minutes. So if you want to add sprinkles make sure to do it while the candy is soft still.

20110422-073043.jpg

I was having a hard time finding candy bags at my local craft stores. So I got snack ziplock bags and cut off the zip lock section. They were a perfect fit and then just tied up with ribbon.

I brought them to my office and they were gone in minutes. They were are a hit!

20110422-073627.jpg

20110422-073654.jpg

20110422-073717.jpg

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

